Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

The Last Long Run!!

Leave a comment

Today’s Run

22.05 miles, 3:50:20, 10:27 pace

Yes.  My daddy and I ran 22 miles today.

garmin

We met at 15th street in Newport around 7:30 this morning.  While it’s much, MUCH easier  to run with a buddy, it’s still quite daunting to start running when you know you have 22 miles ahead of you.

We ran from 15th to the wedge (about 2.4ish miles) and stopped for the mandatory photo op.

wedge 1

wedge 2

wedge 3

I love how the pictures into the sun turn out.

We then turned toward Huntington as usual and ran until the Garmin read 13.8.  That would get us back to 15th street at 22 miles.  Actually it got us there a little before because we didn’t calculate the mileage exactly, but whatever.

Running in Huntington is nice.  We ran past dog beach – it was so fun to see all the doggies frolicking in the water!   I was imagining a little corgi with her short stumpy legs running in the water and it made me smile.  🙂

My dad started feeling a sharp pain where his shin meets his ankle with about 8 miles to go.  I was worried, and he was too, but it would go away after running for a bit.  He thinks it might be the beginning of a stress fracture, which obviously isn’t good.  Hopefully it isn’t bad so he can run the marathon without too much pain or issues.

At the turnaround point, I snapped a few more photos on my phone.

turnaround 2

 

turnround 4

turnaround 3

We kept trucking along, stopping for walk breaks every couple miles or so.  We were both hurting a bit, him more than me I think.  But, we’re in this for the experience and to finish it.  Speed doesn’t matter to us.

I had gels at miles 8 and 16 and tried to drink as much water as I could.  When I don’t stop for lights I forget to drink.  Not good.

We also stopped for the bathroom a couple times.  This is one of the key reasons to do long runs at the beach.  You have easy access to bathrooms and water fountains.  Makes things much easier and removes stress.

When the Garmin finally hit 22, I was very happy, as you can imagine.  More photos.

turnaround 1

done 1

Naturally, I uploaded this picture to Instagram.

done 2

I got home, had a protein shake (protein powder and chocolate coconut water) and took a long hot shower.  It was glorious.

I then had a banana, overnight oats, and iced coffee with milk and Hershey’s.

banana

overnight oats 2

coffee

And since then I’ve been sitting on the couch (like a boss) blogging and working on shower crafty things.  No pictures yet because the honorees need to be surprised!  Later I believe we’re going to Panera for dinner thanks to the Valentine’s gift card from my parents.  The bread bowl is calling my name!

Question:

What are your Saturday night plans?

P.S. Can you believe it’s already almost March?  Where does the time go?

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

