Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

It Was Too Spicy Tonight

Leave a comment

Today’s Run

5.35 miles, 50:55, 9:31 pace

My pulled leg muscle is still bothering me, so I can’t push to be faster if I wanted to.  It’s frustrating, but I’m just glad I’m still able to run even if it hurts.  I WILL accomplish this marathon!

Dinner

You know how the other night Mat made blackened mahi mahi?  Well he made it again tonight since we had leftover mango salsa and salad dressing.

Except tonight something happened.  It was WAY too spicy.

We think what happened was the pan didn’t get hot enough and therefore didn’t cook off some of the spice like last time.  It’s meant to be a spicy dish, but tonight?  Holy cow was it hot.  Mat enjoys super spicy stuff and it was even too hot for him.  You can only imagine how I felt!  I forced it down anyway though because fish is good for you and because I completely forgot that I could have eaten leftover chicken if I wanted to.  Plus fish is expensive and I hate wasting food.

fish

It doesn’t look that spicy here.  So sad.

plate

 

I was gulping water and milk like nobody’s business.

 

 

 

rice 1

Tonight we added cilantro lime rice to the plate.  SO GOOD and so simple!

Cilantro Lime Brown Rice

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups dry brown rice

3 cups water

juice of 1 lime

2 tbps chopped cilantro

Directions:

1. Cook rice in rice cooker or on stove until all water is absorbed and you can fluff it with a fork.

2. Add lime juice and chopped cilantro.  Keep warm.

3. Serve!

rice 2

 

Sadly, I couldn’t finish my rice because my mouth was on fire from the fish.  But there’s leftover rice so yay!

Now I’m going to eat frozen thin mints.  My mouth is better but I still have the excuse, right?

Right.

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

