Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Run Surf City

Leave a comment

I didn’t run this morning.  Shocker, I know.  Instead I took a 3.5 mile walk.  Why?  Because I’ve got a race tomorrow.  🙂

I supposed in theory I could have run anyway, just a short one, since 13.1 miles seems like nothing these days.  But given how my legs have been the last few months, I figured an easier day was a smarter plan.

Honestly?  It was SO NICE to wake up slowly and eventually meander out for a short walk.  I tend to be a total weirdo and look at Facebook/Instagram/email the entire time.  While listening to country music on Pandora.

The not nice part was that Mat injured his wrist again at work and had to leave early and go to the clinic.  This time he has to be out of work for at least a week because he’s not allowed to lift more than 10 pounds.  He should get worker’s comp pay though, thank God.  It’s technically less than his normal pay, but it’s also tax free so it comes out about the same.

Since he ended up being home in the mid/late morning, we were able to eat together.  I had a massive bowl of cereal and an apple pear with coffee.

cereal

By the way, despite having an injured wrist, he still manages to play Halo.

injured wrist

After getting some bridal shower invitations addressed, we headed off to the Surf City expo.  I love this expo because it’s all beachy.  Super fun!

expo 1

 

expo 2

 

We sampled lots of Clif bars and shot bloks.

expo 3

 

Ready to race!

bib

 

I’m a little nervous for this race because of how my legs have been, but I’m also excited.  Expos get me pumped!

And as has become my tradition, I bought myself a new Bic Band.  Love this pattern!  I don’t think it’s online yet.

bic band

 

Perfect for a beach run, no?

I love how Bic Bands donates $1 of every purchase to a charity.  I was talking to one of the girls at the booth and she told me which charity they were donating to for February, but since it’s not announced yet I’ll keep it hush hush.  🙂

And now it’s time to settle in and have a pre-race dinner of scrambled eggs and oatmeal.  Perfect carb/protein mix!

Are you running a race this weekend?

 

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

