Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

How is it Already 3:30?

Leave a comment

During the week, the school day ends at 3:26.  Dance practice typically goes 1-2 hours after that.  During the week, it takes forever to make it to 3:30.

Today I just now realized it was 3:30.  What the heck?  I have an hour until my sister and her boyfriend are coming over so we can meet my parents for an early dinner before seeing A Christmas Carol.  Oy.

Last night I was holding Oakley and Mat was petting her belly which she doesn’t like.  I’ve frequently told him not to be mean to her and pet her belly, and last night it finally resulted in a nasty scratch.  On my hand.

cat cut

I was rather mad at him for it last night.  But I’m not anymore because he brought me flowers after work today.

flowers

This morning I woke up at 7 after a late night at the dance festival.  I had my usual pre-run snack of graham cracker and peanut butter, but used the dark chocolate peanut butter instead.

pre-run snack

 

I ran my first 13 miler since the Long Beach Half on October 7th.  As usual, I have no idea how long it actually took because I don’t (yet) have a GPS watch, but it was probably in the neighborhood of 2:05 since that’s about what my Long Beach time was.  I was tired for a good portion of it, but I pushed through.  This is marathon training, and there’s no going back.  I’d be lying though if I said I wasn’t nervous.  13 miles feels long to me right now since I haven’t done it in a while, and I’m looking to double it?  Yikes.

But reading blogs like Skinny Runner and Run Eat Repeat motivate me.  It’s fun that they’re fellow SoCal girls.  🙂

After my run I stretched, foam rolled, and had a chocolate coconut protein shake with milk and chocolate coconut protein powder.  I blended it with the stick blender to make it frothy.

shake

 

Oakley was fascinated with my stinky sweaty running shoes.

running shoes cat

 

I cleaned the kitchen, dusted, put things away, etc, and then finally showered.  I didn’t vacuum because the vacuum was clogged from sucking up pine needles last weekend, and I wasn’t in the mood to dig the toolbox out from the closet for a screwdriver so I could open up the vacuum and clean it out.  I left that for the man to do.

I had my usual banana (unpictured), iced coffee with milk and Hershey’s (also unpictured), and overnight oats.

overnight oats

 

It wasn’t white chocolate, just the jar.  What was actually in it was peanut butter, 1/2 cup oats. pumpkin, chocolate chips, flax seed, pumpkin pie spice, and milk.  I added granola right before eating.

It took me half an hour to write this post (don’t ask) so now it’s 4 pm and I have to do my makeup and hair for A Christmas Carol.  Amanda and Conor are coming over soon so we can drive together.

Happy Saturday!

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

