Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Pantry Chili

Leave a comment

The best thing about crock pots is that you can often just create whatever you want using ingredients from your pantry.  If you plan ahead a little, you can pick up a few extra things to make something a little more interesting.

Enter: pantry chili and cornbread.

Grab some cans of beans, corn, tomatoes, tomato paste, and spices from the pantry.

 

I ended up using only 1 can each of beans and added smoked paprika.  I didn’t measure the spices, just dumped in some chili powder and cayenne pepper in the morning.  When I taste tested in the afternoon, I added more of each along with the smoked paprika.

I simplified the process by chopping onion and green bell pepper last night (well, actually Mat chopped them while I blogged) and then mixed everything up in the crock pot this morning before work.  I drained and rinsed the beans and drained the corn before adding them, and the tofu ground beef didn’t need any prep at all.

I whipped up the cornbread mix after work too.  Trader Joe’s makes a good mix – you only add an egg, some oil, and some milk.

Throw a salad together (which we’re pros at), and dinner was done.

 

I topped my chili with mozzarella cheese and Greek yogurt.  We don’t even buy sour cream anymore!

I ended up leaving quite a bit of chili behind.  Those bowls always fool me with how much they hold.  Mat didn’t quite finish his either.  Since it’s just the two of us though, we just put it back with the leftovers for tomorrow.

Back up to this morning…

Ran 3.5 miles for day 1 of official marathon training.  Nothing different than usual.

The cat was still crazy.

 

And strawberries are now out of season so my morning cottage cheese is strawberry-less.  But it still has granola, which is actually just fine because I always ate the strawberries out first and then had the cottage cheese with the granola.

 

I know, I’m weird.

I added to the workout today by walking 3.5 miles with Mat after work.  I also did my usual ab workout and added some upper body:

  • 30×5 crunches: knees up, knees down, bicycles, leg kicks with hand holds, leg kicks no holding
  • 60 mason twists
  • 50 seconds each low plank, high plank, both sides with top leg raised for last 30 seconds
  • 10 push ups
  • 30 tricep dips (10 regular, 10 right leg up, 10 left leg up)
  • 10 push ups
  • handstand hold (against the wall)

Wow.  Writing that out makes it seem a lot more intense.  I really am weird.

I wish I could work out for a living.

No seriously, I really do.

Are you as weird as me? 

 

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

