Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Owning the Stress

1 Comment

Tonight we strayed from our usual Friday night pizza and had burritos instead.  Reason?  We’re lazy.  And tired.  I had another really bad breakdown last night and I have the most amazing husband ever because he stays up with me.

 

We had salad of course, with a ranch/salsa combo.  And cheese.  Even though there was cheese in the burritos.  It’s all good.

Oh, and avocado.  Half an avocado per person isn’t gluttonous, right?  And neither is eating extra beans/cheese, right?  Because I totally did NOT do that.  Just like I did NOT scrape the bowl of cookie dough clean and add chocolate chips to what I scraped after making cookies for Grandma’s memorial service tomorrow.

Because I’m a new fur-mama, here’s more pictures of the adorable Oakley.  I’m totally becoming THAT pet-parent.

 

 

 

On the note of breakdowns and having an amazing husband, I’ve decided that I need to finally own the stress.  In saying that, I mean that I need to focus on relaxing.  I’m one of those typical women who doesn’t remember how to relax anymore.  And I don’t mean just relax in front of the tv (but I’m bad at that too).  I’m ALWAYS thinking about something – how icky my work day was, what I have to do tomorrow, etc.

I spent some time this morning googling relaxation techniques.  I found this article that had a lot of good stuff.  I need to be patient and give my body time to recover from the stress lately, and in the meantime I’m going to focus on learning how to truly relax.  I took a bath tonight while playing classical music and reading my book.  We had some wine with dinner and I’m going to keep taking Zzzquil for a few days until I feel better at calming myself down.

This is going to be a process and is probably going to take time, but I have to do it.  It took a traumatic life event to make me realize it, but I’ve needed to do this for a long time.  I always look to the next thing and don’t know how to live in the moment.  That needs to change.

I’ll keep you updated.  Hopefully it doesn’t take TOO long!

What do you do to relax and live in the moment?

 

 

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

One thought on “Owning the Stress

  1. Oh Melissa, I’m sorry things have been so rough lately! I don’t have experience with anxiety but I am all too familiar with the breakdowns of depression and those were never fun. I feel like I’m a pretty laid back person and I think part of it is that I try not to give things more importance than they deserve, I try to see its value in the grander scheme of life. It’s not always easy, but if something is going on I ask myself if it’s really worth the reaction and time I’m giving it. Is there anything I can do to change the situation? If not, then I need to find a way to accept it and let it go. If I can do something, then I try to figure out the best way to go about it. It’s cheesey, but “don’t sweat the small stuff” is kind of what it boils down to, and being careful not to turn small stuff into big stuff. Not sure if any of that can apply to the things you guys are going through but it has helped me keep things in perspective. Wishing you all the best!!

Leave a Reply

