Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Pumpkin Spice Cake Pops (Without the Pops)

2 Comments

Today I made pumpkin spice cake pops. Without the pops. Basically they were cake pops just not on the lollipop stick. I randomly got the idea the other day to make these and this time actually put that idea into action!

I started with a box of yellow cake mix, a can of cream cheese frosting, a can of pumpkin, and pumpkin pie spice.

We love all things Trader Joe’s. Which makes sense since Mat works there.

I made the batter using 1/2 cup of pumpkin instead of oil and added 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice.

;

It went into a 9 x 13 pan and into the oven at 325 for 28 minutes.

;

;

Once it was done, I let it cool completely. I even put it in the fridge for a while to make sure it cooled down all the way.

To make the frosting, I combined a little over half of the can of cream cheese frosting with about 1/3 cup of pumpkin.

;

Then, all that gooey deliciousness got mixed with the cake. I mixed it all up with my hands to make sure the frosting got completely incorporated with the cake. I also added a little more pumpkin pie spice at this point because after taste testing Mat and I both determined it needed a little more spice to it.

;

It was then time to form the cake/frosting mixture into balls. I tend to make mine on the bigger side, but you can do them any size you want.

;

The cake balls went into the freezer to set for about 15 minutes. Meanwhile, I started making the candy coating. I used almond bark and red and yellow food coloring to make an orange coating. (The store didn’t have orange food coloring so I had to get creative). I followed what the box said and did 12 drops yellow with 4 drops red. I wasn’t satisfied with that orange, so I did 12 more yellow and 4 more red.

;

;

Once the balls were set, I dipped them all in the orange coating. It was a bit time-consuming (this is the one time where I started to wish I’d done the pops version because you can hold them on the little stick) but it worked. The last few looked weird because the cake was starting to warm and the coating was not as runny, but we just ate those first. 🙂

;

;

;

;

See the ones on the left? They’re all wonky. 🙂

Last but not least, I drizzled them all with melted chocolate.

;

;

Halloween perfection!

Now go make these. Seriously. Do it.

;

;

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Cake Pops (Without the Pops)

  1. These look Ah-mazing! My familhy LOVES pumpkin bread so I definitely have to try these out! Thanks for linking up and sharing on Thanksgiving Treats and Fall fun not only because I found this great recipe but I found your awesome blog. Liking you on Facebook so I keep up with your amazing post.

    Marilyn
    4you-withlove.blogspot.com

  2. Looks yummy! Thanks for sharing at Marvelous Mondays Linky party

Leave a Reply

