Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Squats, Cleans, and Thrusters

Leave a comment

Tonight we went to our second CrossFit class.  There were a lot of people in class tonight (I’m not sure if that was a fluke or not) so after going a quick stretch session, the instructor split us into two groups.  The first group knew the workout and they got started right away.  The rest of us went to learn how to dead lift, clean, squat, and do thrusters.  We started with PVC pipes to learn the technique.  I think I caught on pretty quickly.  Years of ballet training have taught me how to recognize form  and technique by sight and given me good muscle memory ability.  Of course, I don’t actually know how quickly I caught on, but I never got corrected for doing it horribly wrong, so I’m assuming I was doing ok.

We then practiced with an actual bar.  I’m honestly not sure how heavy the bar was, but it wasn’t super hard to keep the form.  Soon it was time for the workout.

WOD:

30 T2B

20 Thrusters 115/75

800 m run

20 Thrusters 115/75

30 T2B

T2B means toes to bar.  It looks like this:

[source]

However, because we were newbies, we did a much modified version.  I wanted to do K2E’s (knees to elbows), a slightly easier version of T2B’s, like this:

[source]

I do crunches, mason twists (from the P90X ab video) and planks everyday, so I wanted to take the ab work up a notch.  Unfortunately, because there were so many newer people, we had to do 30 sit-ups (from the easiest version of the workout).  I was bummed, but I’m sure I’ll get to try them soon.

Ok so the thrusters.  Oh my goodness.  It hurt SO GOOD.  I was able to do the first set of 20 all in a row using a bar that was slightly heavier than the one I practiced with (there was never any additional weight on the bar).  It wasn’t the bar he had set me at, but I used it because the other girl wasn’t quite done with the bar and I wanted to keep moving.  Then I went for the run and my legs felt slightly jello-like but loosened up nicely halfway into it.  Then I came back in for my next set of thrusters.  I used the bar he had set me at and holy cow it was harder!  I don’t know how much it weighed, but Mat guesses it was around 30 pounds.

I did not do all 20 in a row.  I did 8, rested, 4 more, rested, 4 more, rested, 2 more, and then the last 2.  It was tough!  But the best part was that the girl who had shared the bar with me came to help me out and encourage me and give me pointers.  Without her, I wouldn’t have been able to do those last 2!  She gave me tips to correct my form which made it a lot easier.  🙂

The last 30 sit-ups were no biggie.  Like I said, I wish I could have tried the K2E’s.

I felt like jello at the end, and it was awesome.  I came home and downed a protein shake (just protein powder and milk) before jumping in the shower.  For dinner, we had yesterday’s leftover spinach and feta casserole with barbecue ranch salad.  Delish!

I feel like I have so much more I could talk about, but this post is already a bit rambly.  (Is that a word??)

P.S. Online Blog Con has ended, and it was awesome.   I’ve gained new followers already and I’m sure I’ll gain more as we all go back through the material and check out each other’s blogs.  Yay for blogging!

P.P.S.  I ate a lot today.  I guess that’s what happens when you run 5 miles, teach all day including dance, and go to CrossFit.

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

