Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

CrossFit!

3 Comments

Mat and I went to CrossFit tonight.  We bought two Amazon/LivingSocial deals a couple months ago that got us a month of CrossFit for $30.  Normally, as many people know, a month of CrossFit is NOT only $30.  Will we continue after our month is up?  Not sure.  It’s really expensive and there are a lot of other things we want to be doing right now (like buying a house and going on trips).  But, we’ll see.  A month isn’t a super long time, but it should be enough for us to figure out what we want to do.

Technically we were taking an intro class, but we basically ended up getting thrown into the workout.  During the stretches beforehand I definitely turned the heads of the instructor and the other people in the class.  When we introduced ourselves I said I ran a lot, but I did not say I was a ballet dancer too.  Then we got to the stretching.  Being a ballerina means that any stretching you do in a gym or class at a gym is easy.  No, seriously.  It was easy.  I got my forehead to my knee and they all were gaping.  I was thinking, “What? This is nothing!”  Hehe  🙂

Our instructor showed us a few basic skills and then it was time for the WOD:

Run 1 mile

40 pull ups

Run 1 mile

This is where I thanked God that I’m a runner.  Even though I ran 5 miles this morning, I knew I could handle the 1 mile runs.  The 40 pull ups were scaring the you know what out of me at first (I don’t think I can even do one right now) but there was a lovely modified version for people like me called ring rows.

 

[source]

I did my mile, did 40 ring rows, and did my last mile.  I was afraid the last mile would be really hard, but it was actually almost easier than the first one.  On the ring rows, I did 20 straight and rested, then 10 more and rested, then the last 10.  I probably could have done the last 20 all at once, but I didn’t want to overdo it on my first day and I also didn’t want to hog them from other girls who were waiting.

It actually wasn’t too bad of a workout, since 2/3 of it was running.  My arms and shoulders might be a bit sore tomorrow, but that’s ok.  It hurt so good!  I finished in 17:54.

We’re going back for more on Wednesday!

Dinner

Dinner was leftover avocado mac and cheese and salad.  We also had a protein shake since the pasta didn’t have much in the way of good protein.

 

 

It definitely hit the spot.

In other news, I’m currently attending Online Blog Con.  Sorry, no link – the whole blog is private except for those of us who know the password.  🙂  I learned SO much today about blog design and how to gain readers and all sorts of other things.  I took some notes as I read but still need to go back back and REALLY look at all of it.  I hope I have access to all of it this weekend so I can sit down and do that!

And now it’s time to watch the second to last episode of Battlestar Galactica!

I’m such a nerd.  Gotta love it though!

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

3 thoughts on “CrossFit!

  1. Have you watched any Caprica? It’s the prequel. Pretty amazing.

  2. I’ve always been curious about CrossFit. Sounds interesting…Although I do it, I’m not a huge fan of plain old ‘running’ … I like weight lifting best. I’ve participated in a few 5K’s and the Tough Mudder for 2 years in a row…love those obstacle course type running events 😀

    That Avocado Mac-n-Cheese looks delicious, gonna have to try it!

    P.S. BlogCon Rocks!

Leave a Reply

