Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Dinner for 12

Leave a comment

I’ve been a little distant from the blog in the past 24 hours.  Part of that is from being busy and part is just from feeling blah.

Last night we went to dinner at Yard House at Fashion Island for a belated birthday dinner. Since we were at Kelly’s wedding the night before my birthday, I decided to just do the family thing the weekend after.  We had quite a group: Mat and I, my parents, his parents, my sister and her boyfriend, his sister and her husband, my aunt, and my grandmother.  Dinner for 12!

I totally didn’t think to snap a picture of my Gardein burger, but I had a Gardein burger.  It was actually the avocado swiss burger just with a Gardein patty instead of beef.  It came with fries, which was a huge part of why I decided on a burger.  I don’t usually eat fries, but I had a craving for them.

After dinner, we all came back to our place where I opened gifts and we had cake.  I failed to take a picture of the cake too.  However, my aunt took a bunch of pictures so once I get those I’ll come back and edit this post.

This morning, I really felt that I needed to go to church.  Mat was exhausted from hardly sleeping on Friday night that he opted to sleep in.  I didn’t feel like driving up home, and the service here in Irvine starts at 8 am.  I asked Amanda if she wanted to go, and since birthday cake and presents didn’t take super long and therefore we would be able to get enough sleep (well, I would – she’s a college students and stays up late), she agreed.

The catch was that once we got there, it was empty.  I was confused.  I hadn’t bothered to check the church website because why would I need to?  I pulled it up on iPhone and still didn’t see anything.  A couple of other girls showed up and remembered that they were having a combined service today with the Korean church that shares the building.  The combined service didn’t start until 10:30.

We both still wanted to go to church though, so we headed to Starbucks to kill some time.  It actually ended up begin a blessing.  Amanda and I don’t hang out nearly enough even though we only live about 3 miles away from each other.  We sat and talked (more like I talked – like I said I’ve been blah lately) and she listened and gave me advice.  Then we headed to church where we heard the Korean choir sing and heard a sermon that was given by a guest minister from Concordia College Alabama.  He’s originally from Ethiopia and had an accent.  The Korean pastor translated everything!  It was a really awesome experience.

I came home and took advantage of Netflix while browsing for wide-calf boots online and folding laundry.  I watched Something’s Gotta Give.  It was pretty good I guess.  I was only half watching.

Finally, I decided to set out in search of wide-calf boots.  I have monster calves and am very self-conscious about them, so I was only sort of excited about shopping.  After going to DSW and TJ Maxx with no luck, I headed to Target to get some more running clothes.  I checked out the boot there and found some!  I got my clothes and also got a Yankee pumpkin spice scented candle.  I had a Target gift card from Auntie Kristin and money from my parents so I spent nothing!

 

And while I was at it decided to take pictures of some of my other gifts.  Because it’s fun.  🙂

From Aunt Rhonda and Uncle Doug.  Super excited to read this one!

 

From mommy and daddy.  Date night!  🙂

 

 

From Jim and Kathy:

 

From Nicole and Ryan:

 

From Auntie Kristin (Target card already spent):

 

And Amanda handwrote and framed her maid of honor speech for me.  I cried.  Literally.

 

I finally got around to having a snack/lunch at 6 pm.  But it’s ok since dinner is going to be on the late side.  I had half a honey crisp apple with peanut butter and a pumpkin oatmeal muffin.

 

And speaking of dinner, I need to get that started soon.  Avocado mac and cheese tonight!

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

