Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Social Media

Leave a comment

“Social media allows you to mask parts of your personality and show others. What percentage of yourself do you think you reveal to people online?”

Now that I’m a blogger, I have a much more active social media life.  I’ve always been a bit of a Facebook junkie (who doesn’t like “stalking” people?  Come on, admit it).  I use Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram on a daily basis to promote my blog.

That being said, I think I show nearly all of myself online.  Not 100%, because that would be creepy, but probably 80-90%.  I’m pretty honest, and my blog posts are often total brain dumps.

However, being a teacher means that I have to be careful with how much I reveal online.  Even though I try to block things like my Facebook profile from showing up in search results, I’m sure people can still find it.  Besides, if I want to promote my blog I kind of need to keep my profiles active.  It’s a delicate balance.

Do you have any tips for using social media to the fullest while protecting your profile from being found by certain people?

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

