Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

A Big Question

Leave a comment

“At what point in life did you stop trying to look older? At what point in life did you start trying to look younger?  If neither are true, talk about looking your age.”

Oh boy.  This is a good question.  I’m not sure if I ever tried to look older while growing up.  I’ve always looked young for my age, so it’s quite possible I tried to make myself look older.  I do remember being all bummed out that a girl from ballet actually looked her age, in fact looked older, and I looked way younger.  Since I was also super short for my age, it made it worse.  I remember my mom telling me that I should be glad to look young because when we’re all adults she’ll look old and I won’t.

At the time I obviously didn’t appreciate that.  But now?  I totally do.  I’m about to be 27 and I could probably pass for 16.  So I certainly not trying to look younger, and now that I’m getting closer to 30 I certainly don’t want to look older.

I’m pretty happy with how I look, I guess.  Yeah, I have fat days and icky feeling days, but overall I’m happy.  I love being short.  I used to hate it, but now I love being little and cute.  🙂  Even my students think I’m adorable (well, the dance students anyway).

Do you look your age?  Do you like it or hate it?

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

