Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Do You Enjoy Acting?

Leave a comment

This is BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo day 3 topic.  Do I enjoy acting?  Yes, I suppose so, but only if that acting is related to dance.

As a ballet dancer, you have to tell a story without words.  The emotion you convey has to be done with only your face and body language.  If you’ve been dancing for a long time, you learn how to express anger, happiness, sadness, and other emotions through your facial expressions and how you position each part of your body.

For example:

This is the header image of my blog (obviously).  Here I am rehearsing for a piece about autumn in which I was the squirrel.  The squirrel is trying to look for acorns to sustain her through the winter, and I was trying to convey some sort of longing on my face and with my arms and hands.

This was a more abstract piece.  Here it was all about expressing the emotion of the music.  What do you think I’m trying to portray here?

And in this one (from 4 years ago) I’m playing a life-size doll.  I believe this is on the Dancing page also.  As a doll, I’m not supposed to show any emotion, yet this doll is supposed to be fierce (note: the sword).

So yes, I like acting.  I love getting to portray something or someone else and I love interpreting music and trying to understand and convey whatever emotion I hear and feel.  You get to go to a totally different place and be a totally different person, just for a little while.  And, since there’s no speaking involved, you can almost focus MORE on the emotion and the feelings.  This is one of the things I miss most about performing.

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

