Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

NaBloPoMo Day 2

Leave a comment

Yesterday was the first day of NaBloPoMo.  You can find my response here.

Today’s topic: “Are you good at hiding your feelings or is your face an open book?”

Hmm, this is an interesting question.  I think for me, it depends on the day, my mood, and the situation.  If I’m at home or with family or close friends, I think I’m a pretty open book.  If I’m comfortable around the people I’m with, I’ll let my guard down and show my emotions.  If I’m at work, however (I teach high school),  I can’t always be an open book.  I have to hide what I’m feeling no matter what it is.  This goes for hiding whatever might be going on in my personal life so that it doesn’t affect my ability to teach or my students’ abilities to learn, and it also includes hiding whatever annoyance I might be feeling at a student.

Like yesterday, for example.  Yesterday I was NOT happy with my 1st period students because only 4 out of 24 did their homework.  Yes, it was the weekend, but this is Algebra 2 (read: older students) and I only gave them 4 problems.  Yesterday, I failed at hiding my feelings.  They knew that I was disappointed with them.

This example is one of those where you wonder if you should have hidden your feelings or if letting them show was ok.  You can never know the answer to that in the moment though, because usually in the moment we react without thinking.

So I guess I don’t have a good answer to this question.  I certainly have had plenty of times where I should have hidden my feelings but didn’t (yesterday, perhaps?)

How often do you fail at hiding your emotions?

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

