Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

I Heart Weddings

1 Comment

Today we are going to Mat’s cousin Misty’s wedding.  I LOVE WEDDINGS!!

But, before we could leave for the wedding, there were chores and things to be done.  Mat took the day off, so we both got to get up at the same time and go for a run.  We always run separately because I can’t handle his long legs and the fact that he’s a guy.  He ran 8 miles since he just ran 13 on Monday, and I ran 10.  It was our last long run before next Sunday’s half marathon!

Before my run, I had a graham cracker with peanut butter on it.

When we got back, Mat went off to get a haircut, deposit reimbursement money from when I bought stuff for dance production, and get gas in his car.  The wedding is about 60 miles away – a quarter tank wasn’t going to cut it.

While he was gone, I got to cleaning.  I straightened up, dusted, vacuumed, and cleaned the kitchen.  I also put out the Halloween decorations we bought on our Target run last night.

Ignore the cheese commercial and focus on the pumpkin candy dish and twig-like pumpkin.  🙂

We got a few Thanksgiving things too.  I was trying to get a combo of stuff – pumpkins work for both Halloween and Thanksgiving, so we got a couple things like that and then a couple Halloween only and a couple Thanksgiving only.  I love being able to decorate!  It’s our first holiday season in our own place, and it’s quite exciting.  🙂

What kinds of holiday decorations do you put in your home?

While I was cleaning, I realized it was going to be a while before I could eat an actual meal, so I snacked on a Babybel lite cheese.

It was finally time, after a shower, to eat.  I had a sliced banana with strawberries, overnight oats, chocolate coconut water, and iced coffee with milk and Hersheys.

The fruit picture was also today’s @fitmixer Instagram photo of the day.

In the oats:

  • almond butter
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • pumpkin
  • chocolate chips
  • 2 tbsp flaxseed meal
  • chocolate protein powder mixed with milk
  • granola (added this morning before eating)

After eating, I gave myself a mani/pedi.  Gotta look pretty all over for a wedding!  I bought a new Essie nail polish at Target last night – it’s called “miss fancy pants.”  Cute, right?

I really like the color.  The glitter is an old one I found – I put a coat of it on the ring finger of each hand after the solid color.  I love the ring-finger-other-color-or-glitter trend!

You can’t really see it in this picture, but it’s there.  I was looking for a more sparkly silver glitter polish that I swore I had, but I guess it was always my sister’s that I stole.  Oh well.

Oh, are you wondering where my wedding ring is?  I cleaned it this morning so it’s nice and sparkly, so I’m waiting to put it back on right before we leave.

And that’s been our day so far.  We’re leaving in about an hour, so I better get my hair and makeup done!

Before I race off though, yesterday was a total pumpkin kind of day:

Heck yes pumpkin spice latte and pumpkin scone!  Thank you Starbucks!  And thank you to my husband for getting me a mini pumpkin to make my desk at work more festive.  🙂

Alrighty, gotta get ready for the wedding!  Have a great Saturday everyone!

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

One thought on “I Heart Weddings

  1. I love the idea of decorating your home for holiday season. I like what you’ve done (especially the table!). I’m thinking more about seasonal decoration and natural elements. (Here in Belgium, Halloween is fairly new and mostly commercially pushed… – which makes it all more unnatural to me).

Leave a Reply

