Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Spaghetti Squash

Leave a comment

Tonight we made a somewhat healthier version of spaghetti with nutritional yeast.  How?  Spaghetti squash!

I first discovered spaghetti squash last year when I took my sister to the Taylor Swift concert in LA.  We went to dinner beforehand at a local-ish restaurant (downtown LA isn’t local, but whatever) that served a lot of organic food and was very farmhouse food-like.  We both ordered the spaghetti squash because it just sounded so dang good.  It came with vegetarian meatballs, marinara, and was garnished with mozzarella.

Shortly thereafter, Mat and I recreated it at home.  It was amazing.  We had it several times last fall while the squash was in season.

And now?  It’s back in season!  We had to make it.  A quick, cheap, yummy meal: roasted spaghetti squash, and any spaghetti sauce you want.  To keep it easy (and cheaper) we nixed the vegetarian meatballs and added nutritional yeast to the sauce.  Add a salad and some garlic bread (not pictured) and you have a very filling meal.

We also finished the wine from the other night.

Since today was not a modified day, I didn’t get home until after 6.  Part of that was also due to having to put out another “fire” with dance production.  It’s nothing terrible – the girls are just upset about something (no details here – not appropriate) and are still young enough to need reminders about how to deal with those feelings (i.e. don’t gossip, come to me privately if they’re upset, etc.).  It was annoying to not be able to go home when I should have, especially since I was TIRED, but it had to be taken care of.  I just hope I don’t have to keep dealing with it.

In other news, guess how much my blog earned from ads in the first month?  Are you ready?  Are you sure?

A whopping $1.85.

Yeah.  Lame.  I mean, I didn’t expect anything big, but I was hoping for at least $10 or something.

So how can you help?  Keep reading, but read using your browser and not in your email (the ads don’t show up in emails).  Get your friends to read me.  Tweet me (@dancingforfood) and follow me on Instagram (@melkolbeck) to help get the word out about my blog.  Like my Facebook page using the link on the sidebar.

I’m loving the blog world more and more every day.  Help me become a bigger part of it!!

😀

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

