Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

A Good Run!

1 Comment

This morning my alarm went off at 5.  I was a bit groggy when I woke up (who wouldn’t be) but surprisingly not as tired as when I wake up at the same time on a workday.  Weird.  I got myself ready for my run and had a graham cracker with peanut butter on it before I headed out.

 

I did a slightly different beginning today.  I Mat suggested it because it would add about a mile to my nearly 12 mile run without it feeling like I was coming right back home and having to go past again like I mentioned last night.  It must have worked.  I started the run off kind of slow and easy so I wouldn’t risk tiring out.  I never really push it on long runs except to make sure I run the whole thing and finish it, but I also wanted to make sure this morning that I didn’t push it too fast at the beginning without realizing it.

I am SO PROUD of myself for getting through the full 13 miles without feeling fatigued.  Sure, I got tired, but in the usual way.  It’s a tiny personal victory to have a good run after a bad one last Saturday.

After my run, I showered and then got the dusting and vacuuming done.  It’s really nice to put my leftover running high energy into cleaning right away – that way it’s done and I don’t have to worry about it on Sunday and can rest instead.  I still need to clean the kitchen and Mat needs to clean the bathroom, but the rest is done.  The laundry is already started too.

Breakfast was a sliced banana with strawberries and overnight oats.

 

 

In this overnight oats:

  • 3/4 cup oats
  • peanut butter
  • chocolate chips
  • milk mixed with protein powder
  • granola (added right before eating)

I also had iced coffee with milk and Hershey’s:

 

 

 

 

The plan for the rest of the afternoon is to wrap my aunt’s birthday gift and hang around the house for a while.  We’re going to dinner for her birthday tonight and hopefully will have some time beforehand to wander around the mall a bit like we used to when we lived at home.  Oh, nostalgia.  🙂  It’s shaping up to be a very lovely Saturday!

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

One thought on “A Good Run!

  1. glad to hear you had a great run!

Leave a Reply

