Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Salads for Dinner

Leave a comment

Anyone who knows me knows I’m obsessed with salad.  Before I started running, I ate a LOT of it.  Like, tons.  At restaurants that’s pretty much all I would order.

Then, after I started running real distances, I found myself craving real food.  Food like peanut butter and almond butter and CARBS and food with OOMPH.  You know?

But I still like my salad.

 

The salad on the right is a basic romaine/spinach combo like we make every night.  Tonight I decided to go with the slightly unhealthier barbecue ranch.  There were lots of veggies and then I added shredded cheese, crushed tortilla chips, and ranch and barbecue sauce.  It was heavier on the ranch tonight than usual, but that was because there wasn’t much barbecue sauce left.

The salad on the left, though, is a different story.  I prepped it earlier today and let it sit in the fridge so the flavors would come together.  It’s Mango Avocado Black Bean Quinoa Salad.  I used regular quinoa rather than the red from the picture in the recipe.

We’ve made this recipe once before, and it’s delicious.  Very fresh and citrusy.  I’m trying to enjoy these kinds of flavors while it’s still summery enough to make them.  However, I’m not gonna lie.  I’m looking forward to make chili in the crock pot and mac and cheese and other delicious comfort foods.

While I was eating I was half watching Breaking Amish on TLC (Mat is at work until 10:30 tonight 😦 ).  I didn’t see all of it and was doing two things at once, but what I did see was fascinating.  Hopefully I can see an entire episode next time it’s on!

And with that, I will be heading to bed soon.  I think I’ve finally learned my lesson about not getting enough sleep on Sunday nights.  I’m so glad tonight is the last Sunday night Mat will work a late shift – starting next Sunday he’ll be home at this time!

I might eat chocolate first though.  It’s sort of a requirement.

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

