Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Labor Day

Leave a comment

I did not get to bed early enough last night.  At all.  I think it was a little after 1 when I finally got the light out.  Mat came to bed shortly after – he had worked until 11 and needed to eat and shower.

I still got up at 7, but I woke up around 6:15 having to pee SO bad.  Luckily I fell back asleep until my alarm.  I would have much rather slept in, but I wanted to run and knew I couldn’t do it if it was later and therefore hot.  I had considered doing an Insanity workout, but I wasn’t feeling it anymore this morning.  As it was, it was hard to get my butt out and run.  But get it out I did and I did my usual Monday 5 miles.

When I got back I went to the little gym in our complex hoping to do some ab work on an incline, but the thing they have in there isn’t really the best for that.  So, I used this machine (I have no idea what it’s called) where you sit and push straight out with your legs.  I guess it’s like squats but sitting?  I also used the 8 pound free weights, just one set of 20 reps for biceps and the same for triceps.  I’ve been using 3 pound weights so I didn’t want to jump to 8 and do too much too fast.  I really need to get some 5 and 10 pound weights to keep at home.

Then, after getting ready and making the bed and such, I made a smoothie:

 

This time I didn’t use chocolate syrup – I was very proud of myself.  I made a double so Mat could have one when he got back from the gym.  I used 1/4 cup dry oatmeal and cooked it ahead of time, 2 bananas (well not quite because one had a bruise), 3 scoops of peanut butter, and a (couple) handfuls of chocolate chips.  I also used about 6 coffee ice cubes and a few regular ones.  We both need an extra caffeine kick today…

Speaking of caffeine, naturally I had coffee, iced with milk and Hershey’s:

 

I’ve been thinking a lot the last day or so about whether or not to audition for The Nutcracker and then when we should start this whole house-buying process.  It’s all fantastic stuff, but it’s definitely a lot to think about.

On an unrelated note, “Here Comes Honey Boo Boo” just came on TLC.  It’s a rerun of course because it’s 11 am on a Monday, but every time it comes on I can’t tear my eyes away.  Is there something wrong with me?

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

