Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

That Was a Long One

Leave a comment

I got to work around 7:20 this morning.  I taught 3 Algebra 2 classes in a row before lunch, all of which went well.  2nd period was a little chatty, I think because two of my 4th period girls transferred into that class.  I’m not super worried though because I now have NO PROBLEM moving them if they start to act up too much.  After lunch I taught my final Algebra 2 class of the day and then had my prep period.  That class was SUPER quiet, largely because it’s down to 14 students now.

During my prep I managed to get the majority of next week’s plans done, at least in the sense of what I’m doing.  I still have  few things to create including the quiz, but I also have a lot of stuff from the last couple years to pull from.

And then it was dance production.  We elected a captain and 2 co-captains, did a quick warm-up, and then stayed after school for 2 hours working on the dance for the assembly.  A girl from Think Together is doing most of the choreography because she started it in the summer, and I’ll fill in the gaps and clean it up when she’s not there.  It’s a pretty big relief to have her doing this dance so I can keep getting my brain organized for running a dance class on a school campus and such.  I’m also not used to choreographing jazz/lyrical so it’s nice to have a few weeks to get myself accustomed to it.

And then I got home around 6 pm.  It was a long day, but not a bad one.  I’m thankful that we won’t be staying late every day.  We’ll only stay until 5:30 on Mondays and Wednesdays, but on modified Mondays (which is 3 out of 4 every month) we’ll be done at 3:30 like usual.  Tuesdays and Fridays we’ll go til 4:30 at the latest, and on Thursdays I’m not going to keep them at all because we’re going to run the mile.  I figured that they’re kids and need to do their homework and have a life.  I also need to have a life.  So it’s a win-win.  🙂

All this dance production and concerts and church choir stuff has gotten me bitten by the performing bug.  Let’s just say I may or may not be slightly maybe thinking about trying to perform in a show in a few months…

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

