Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

The Tchaikovsky Concert

Leave a comment

On Saturday night, Mat and I joined my parents, Amanda, and Conor for one of the Pacific Symphony’s summer concerts.  It was at the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater in Irvine, about 8 miles away from us.  The Amphitheater is an outdoor concert venue with lots of grassy areas to picnic at beforehand.  My parents bought season tickets to the entire summer concert series, and we joined them for this particular one.  We packed some quinoa salad to share, grabbed a bottle of wine and our picnic basket, picked up Amanda and Conor from her apartment, and headed off.

My mom had left our tickets at will call since we were getting there a little bit after them, so Amanda I went to get them.  As we were walking back to find Mat and Conor, I heard “Ms. White!” I turn (I still react to it – not quite used to Mrs. Kolbeck yet) and saw one of the administrators from school.  It was the most random thing ever.  It was also kind of cool, especially because I really like her, both as an administrator and just as a person.  She’s a lot like me – very Type A, perfectionist, and has a random sense of humor with a bit of sarcasm/edge.  It’s hilarious.

We met up with my parents for our picnic.  So fun!  Once the concert started, OMG.  It was amazing.  I love music, especially good music.  I also love to see people who are passionate about music.  There were cameras showing the symphony members on the big screen, and every once and a while you could see the conductor’s face, something you don’t usually see from the audience.  You could really feel his passion for the music as he conducted.  The same was true of the symphony members when you got a close-up of them playing.

Most of what they played I knew.  I especially enjoyed the waltz from Swan Lake and the balcony scene from Romeo and Juliet.  They played the 1812 Overture last, and there was a fireworks show at the end.  It was absolutely amazing.

Photos from the night:

I’m seriously thinking of gutting season tickets to next year’s summer series.  I heard that the lease on the land will be up in a couple years, so I definitely want to take advantage of it while it’s still guaranteed to be there.

All this music (especially the ballet music) from church yesterday and then combined with begin more involved at dance through dance production, makes me get really bitten by the performing bug.  For now let’s just saying I’m mulling some ideas around in my head.  🙂

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

