Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Today Was a Fun One

1 Comment

This morning at church, the choir that my mom and aunt sang in while in high school (they both grew up in that church – it’s definitely been in our family!) had a reunion.  It started through Facebook (naturally) several months ago, and it was amazing how many former choir members showed up.  Some flew in, some drove in from far, they stayed at a nearby hotel, and they had a big reunion weekend.

The choir was called “Humneo” which is Greek for “sing praises.”  It started in 1971 and toured various areas of the country in a school bus over the next 10 years.  I knew it was a big deal for my mom and my aunt, but I never realized until today just how much it was a part of their lives.

The choir members not only went out for drinks at the hotel on Friday night and rehearsed on Saturday afternoon, but they also got to church early today to practice more.  One of the coolest things while listening to them sing, besides seeing how happy they all were, was realizing that the songs I sang when I was a little kid in the choir were from Humneo.  That really took me back and was just so unbelievably cool.

Some photos from this morning:

 

 

the women in the center wearing the black/white shirt directed the children’s choir when i was a kid

 

 

that’s my mom with the pastor who started the church back in 1960. his daughter and my mom were really close friends.

 

 

Breakfast

When I got home I wolfed down some cereal and finished my coffee before I finished straigtening up for Diana to come over.

 

 

At 1:00, my good friend and sorority sister Diana came over for some quality girl time.  We had some wine and quinoa salad for lunch:

this is not my portion, it’s the serving bowl.  i also forgot to take a picture of my wine. what can i say, when i’m having a good time with friends i sort of forget the pictures.

Diana and I had a fabulous time just hanging out and chatting.  I made chocolate lava cookies, but Diana was feeling up to dessert so she took hers to-go when she left around 8.  I love hanging out with Diana and wish I could do it more often.  Sometimes being an adult and having to work is so annoying!

Dinner:

I had a banana with almond butter for dinner, along with a lava cookie (with vanilla bean ice cream, Hershey’s, and a few extra chocolate chips):

 

 

And now I find myself NOT in bed at 10 pm on a Sunday night like I should be.  I’m afraid it’s going to be a rather tough week since I haven’t had a 5 day week with students since June.  I’m not used to needing that much energy!  Fortunately there’s a 3-day weekend to look forward to though!

Time to unwind for bed, and try not to think about the fact that Mat is still at work.  😦  Another reason I’m not a fan of Sunday nights.

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

One thought on “Today Was a Fun One

  1. I had so much fun! (I very much approve of your dinner choice too!)

Leave a Reply

