Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Uncle Sam Original Cereal

Leave a comment

Recently, Attune Foods (@attunefoods) sent me 3 boxes of cereal to try.  We opened the Uncle Sam Original Cereal just before Vegas and then took it with us.  Here’s all three:

I’ve been wanting to write about the one on the left for a while now.  Sadly, school starting has made me crazy and barely able to keep up with anything.  And since I wanted to take my time on this post, I figured it was better to wait until I had a chance to actually sit down and write it.

We ate the cereal in several ways.  One way was the obvious, in a bowl of cereal:

this was in Vegas – honey bunches of oats on the bottom and Uncle Sam on top

I also had it mixed with Greek yogurt on my first day back to work:

Greek yogurt, strawberries, honey, and Uncle Sam

And this morning I had it in my overnight oats:

the overnight oats

there’s Uncle Sam!

So, what do I think about the cereal?  I love it.  It’s just sweet enough that you can totally snack on it, but not so sweet that you feel like you’re eating a sugar bomb for breakfast.  It’s really only two ingredients:  toasted whole wheat flakes and whole flaxseeds.  It’s light, crunchy, and is a perfect texture for all three of the ways I ate it.

If it’s milk, it gets a little softer but not soggy and retains the natural sweetness, and in the Greek yogurt it added an excellent crunch that I honestly might like better than granola.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE granola, but Uncle Sam cereal is lighter.  I still get the sweetness without the “thicker” granola texture.  Does that make sense?  It’s the only way I can describe it.

I can definitely see myself buying this cereal for myself more often. I love a good healthy cereal that doesn’t taste like cardboard, and this definitely fits the bill!

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

