Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Dance Production Bags

Leave a comment

Last night I designed the dance production duffel bags.  I’m kind of excited because I think I can get one for myself too.  🙂  I’m not going to show what they look like though until the girls have decided they like them and I’m able to order them.  I’m also working on figuring out what kind of shoes to get them – it all depends on what’s in the budget right now.  That’s on my to-do list for my prep today – hopefully nothing else comes up.

It’s funny.  Teaching dance is clearly going to make me more busy than last year, because they practice after school, but I’m actually excited.  Last night I realized i was actually looking forward to going to work today (well, almost lol).  I know, crazy right?  It’s because I had an overall good vibe today, and I feel much better equipped to handle any attitudes from my math students after last year.  I guess a bad class really is a learning experience?

As a “tease,” this is the quote I’d like to put on the dance bags:

“Dance is the hidden language of the soul.” ~Martha Graham

Omg, I am SO excited to teach these girls about ballet and ballerinas and modern and Martha Graham and the HISTORY of dance.  It’s so fascinating and I can’t wait to share it with them!  And they’re all so eager to LEARN – they’re like sponges!  Eeek!!

one of the more famous photos of Martha Graham

[source]

 

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

