Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

The First Day of School

Leave a comment

I had lots of adrenaline this morning.  I was worried last night that I’d sleep through my alarm.  Not only would that mean I’d miss my run, but it would also mean, more importantly, that I’d be late for the first day of school.  THat would be bad.

This worrying caused me to have a dream about waking up seemingly on time, but having it be light out (I get up at 5 am, it is definitely not light out then), then trying to run but getting held up, the route changing midway or something like that, and then I think I woke up.

I woke up about 20 minutes before my alarm and since I was tired I wanted to go back to sleep, but it was hard because my brain wanted to turn on and start thinking about the first day.  But, I did manage to doze a little bit until 5.  When the alarm went off, I was up super fast!  I did my run, probably faster than usual as a result of adrenaline, and got ready and was out the door by 7.

I couldn’t resist taking the classic “first day of school picture:”

 

I wore my staff shirt because the OC Register was supposedly on campus doing a story on the first day.  I never saw them, but since I got the principal’s email about it in time, I obviously wore the shirt.  It also took away the anxiety about what to wear to make the right impression on the kids.  The first day is key when it comes to impressions on kids and getting them to respect you and do what you want them to do in your class.

Overall, the day was good!  I had one tiny hiccup in 1st period with a girl thinking she could get up and talk to her friend while I was still talking, but I nipped it in the bud and followed up with a lecture about how that’s not ok.  These students are members of the academy programs at our school, and in their academy elective class they’re allowed to walk around as they please while they work on the computers and projects.  But math class?  No.  Not ok.

Hopefully it isn’t a problem this year – it definitely has been in the past.

And then there was dance production.  I’m excited.  🙂  Still trying to figure everything out, but I’m excited.  I really do think it’s going to make a big difference in my sanity this year, even if it does make me stay later at school.  I love dance, and I’m so excited to share it with them.  They’re really excited to learn ballet and actual technique, and I’m super excited to teach it to them.

I was pretty terrified to start this year based on last year and everything I went through.  I don’t want to jinx myself, but I have a pretty good feeling about this year.  Here’s to a good one!

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

