Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Trying to be Good

Leave a comment

Lately, Mat and I have started trying to be good.  Before Vegas we were starting to shrink our dinner portions a bit and cut back on the dessert.  During Vegas that plan was so-so, but we were on vacation and were still going to the gym, so it wasn’t a total step backward.  Now that we’ve been home for a week, we’ve continued trying to be good.

I’m not totally unhappy with my body, but I can’t say I was totally happy either.  I don’t want to be super skinny or anything, but I want to be just a bit leaner than I currently am.  I’m really hoping that CrossFit will help, but until then I’d like to incorporate a little more strength type stuff.  I might do the cardio Insanity video, because that definitely builds muscle.  I’m also a bit intrigued by this book.

I first heard of it from Meghann on Meals and Miles.  At the time, I wasn’t super interested because I’ve always been that girl to look at weights and go “ew, no, I don’t want big muscles!”  But now, I think I’m changing my mind.  I’m never going to have ballerina legs – that has been proven to me because when I have lost weight for ballet all it does is make my neck and collarbone look scary.  So, I may as well embrace the muscle, right?

At least, I’m trying to.  It’s easier said than done.  All I know is that I’m sick of going back and forth with feeling happy with my body and being mad at it or at myself.  There’s enough other stuff in life to stress about; I’d like to check this one off for good.

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

