Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Sticky and Sunny

Leave a comment

I’ve never really shared my pre-long run snacks, and today I remembered to take a picture.  I try to keep these snacks easy and pretty small.  I also like a mix of some sort of carb/sugar and protein.  Peanut butter is usually used.  🙂

Today was no exception.  A graham cracker with peanut butter:

 

I love peanut butter.

If you saw my DailyMile post this morning, you’d see that I had a sticky and sunny run.  I got up at 6 (that’s going to get harder and harder as the school year gets going…hopefully the weather calms down soon so I can start getting up at 7 again) and of course, by the time I got out the door all sunscreened up and with a full bottle of water in tow, the sun was already coming out and the air felt thick.  This does not do good things for the psyche.

When I first started, I instantly thought, oh crap.  This might be painful.  I had that tired feeling that I’ve been having a lot lately and just can’t seem to shake.  It’s getting really frustrating.  But, I pushed through anyway because I’m the idiot who doesn’t want to keep going and gets really tired yet still doesn’t stop.  I only stop when I really and truly cannot physically keep going.  It’s both good and bad.  That’s not to say though, that I don’t get slower as I run.  🙂

It was hot this morning.  Have I said that already?

After my run, I showered and threw on some clothes and went to pick up a couple prescriptions from the pharmacy.  I’m glad I got that over with.  It was a pain waiting for my face wash to come it because they had to order a slightly different one.  I’m completely out of my old one and my skin has been flaring up again all of a sudden, so I’m very thankful to have it back.

Breakfast

I love breakfast.  Especially when it consists of this:

 

Overnight oats: peanut butter (told you I love it), 1/2 cup oats, chocolate chips and milk sat overnight in the fridge and this morning I added a few strawberries and granola.  I had a banana on the side and iced coffee with milk and Hershey’s.

Today I have little things like laundry to do, and I also want to get a few things done for school.  The school stuff may carry into tomorrow, but I don’t mind that because I have the entire morning until about 2 pm before we go to a going-away party.

I understand why school starts earlier than it used to, and believe me once November comes and I have a week off at Thanksgiving and then December comes and I have 3 weeks off for Christmas, it’s worth it.  But right now?  Right now it’s hot and gross and I’d rather be at the beach.  It’s just wrong to be back in school when it’s so hot.  Oh well.  I’m employed.  I’m happy and thankful for that.

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

