Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Another Inventive Dinner. Sort of.

2 Comments

Af the mall I had a (not pictured) Godiva truffle and a (also not pictured) skinny iced mocha coconut latte (their blenders had broken so I had a mocha coconut frappuccino alternative, only to be told right after getting my drink that the blenders were back or working or something but I didn’t bother having them make the frappuccino because I didn’t want to keep waiting) we went to Macy’s to see if there were any blazers/sport coats for Mat.  We wandered for a bit and nothing really caught his eye except for stuff that was too expensive (of course).

We wandered into Williams-Sonoma because he still has a gift card, but again saw nothing except for things that were more expensive than what’s on the gift card.  Finally, we went to Hallmark to get a couple of cards for upcoming events.  By this point I was over it and wanted to go home, so home we went.

Mat made an awesome appetizer tonight:

 

Toasted buttermilk bread from Trader Joe’s with pesto and shredded cheese.  It was my idea to use up the pesto by making a toast appetizer, but he thought of the cheese and then arranged the pieces all pretty-like.  🙂

Dinner was a concoction using the leftover cooked brown rice from the other day.  We tend to make more rice or quinoa than we needed for a particular recipe, and then it ends up in the fridge and is lonely.  So we usually then find a way to use it in something else.  Tonight’s something else involved this stuff:

pepper, salt, chili powder, red pepper flakes, cumin, cayenne pepper, corn, black beans, and chopped onion and garlic

He sautéed the garlic and onion, added the seasonings, and then added the rice.  The corn and beans went in next, and he also added salsa and some chopped bell peppers at the end.

I have no pictures of the finished product.  I thought he took one but I guess not.  I also failed miserably at taking a picture of my plate tonight.  I’d gotten so good at that too!  I mean, I even took a picture of my lunch at work yesterday in which my colleagues probably thought I was nutty!

Oh, well.

This was fairly similar to the spicy quinoa stir fry I made a while back.  We served the finished product in warm tortillas with shredded cheese, Greek yogurt (it’s our sour cream substitute), and more salsa.  We had a salad on the side.

Dinner took a while to finish because we were talking about work and life and things.  It’s so weird to be adult enough that you talk about work and life and things.  So now it’s almost 10 pm and we haven’t had our required port wine and chocolate like last night:

 

Yes, that’s totally last night’s picture.  That’s because I’m writing this as he’s pouring the wine and dumping the chocolate chips into the cute little bowls.

And we’re also going to watch Boy Meets World again.  And then probably pass out.

Good night!

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

2 thoughts on “Another Inventive Dinner. Sort of.

  1. That dish sounds similar to “cheesy amazing mexi-rice” but the only thing you’re missing is the (optional) meat and the CARAMELIZED CHEESE!!! YUM!

    http://www.emilybites.com/2012/01/cheesy-amazing-mexi-rice.html

Leave a Reply

