Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

First Day Back

Leave a comment

The first day back to work was a pretty easy one.  We had various staff development presentations from 8-11:30 and were done for the day.  It was nice to ease back into work like that.  We have more staff development tomorrow and Monday and then have all day Tuesday to work in our rooms.

One of the first things I did when I got there was check my teaching assignment.  As I hoped, I have periods 1-4 of Algebra 2, 5th period prep, and 6th period Dance Production.  This excites me GREATLY.  I’ve taught Algebra 2 every year since I began teaching which means I’m very comfortable with it and won’t have to do a whole lot of prep work besides tweaking things to make them better.  I’ve taught Geometry a lot before, including both previous years at Century, and while it’s interesting, it’s not my favorite area of math to teach.  I’m pretty excited to not have that subject and to just have one math class to worry about.  Dance Production is already going to be challenging as I figure out what I’m doing!

However, I’m excited about teaching dance.  I’ll feel better once I get some questions answered on Monday when the other dance teacher is back, but overall I’m excited.  It will be so nice to teach something that’s been a passion since I was little.

Breakfast

I ate breakfast before work (I usually bring it with me) because I didn’t need to get there early to work in my room and prep for the day.  I finished the last of the Greek yogurt and topped it with strawberries, cereal, and honey.  Naturally, I had iced coffee with it (and took more iced coffee with me).

 

After work I went to Costco because we were out of or running low on a bunch of basics.  I was STARVING when I got home (that’s what happens when you eat at 7 am and don’t get home until 1 pm).  I had bought almond butter at Costco and was totally craving it, so I made some oatmeal, chilled it, and added milk, almond butter, a few chocolate chips, and a banana.

 

This afternoon is chock full of school things, blog things, and going to ballet.  I have lots to do to get ready for the new school year and lots of things buzzing around my head for the blog.  Thankfully, the new school year is bringing new motivation.  It also helps a LOT to know what I’m teaching and to know that it’s something totally manageable.  I think *fingers crossed* I’m really going to like this year’s schedule.  🙂

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

