Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Quinoa Balls

2 Comments

Yesterday I mentioned that I had made quinoa balls and that the recipe was coming.  I think this is a new record for me to say something is coming and then to actual do it.  Go me!

These are delicious little bites of sweet, protein-packed, carby goodness.  Yeah, there’s sugar in them, but there’s also good stuff like quinoa, oats, and peanut butter, so who really cares about a little honey and chocolate chips.  Right?  Right.

Quinoa Balls (adapted from here)

Ingredients:

2 cups old fashioned or quick-cooking oats, dry

1/2 cup quinoa, dry + 1 1/2 cups water

1 cup dark chocolate chips

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp sea salt

2 tbsp peanut butter

2/3 cup honey

Directions:

  1. Combine the quinoa and water in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for about 12 minutes, until quinoa has absorbed all the liquid. Fluff and scoop quinoa into a large mixing bowl.
  2. Add oats to quinoa and mix well. Bring honey to a simmer on the stove then stir in the vanilla extract and pour on top of quinoa and oats. Mix until well combined.
  3. Let mixture cool before adding the chocolate chips, peanut butter and sea salt. Mix well with your hands so the peanut butter is evenly dispersed but be careful not to melt the chocolate chips! Chill dough in fridge for an hour.
  4. Using wet hands, gently roll mixture into golf ball-sized balls. Place balls on a plate and chill for at least two hours until firm.

I adapted this by leaving out the seeds, nuts, coconut, and dried fruit simply because the first time I made them (a few months ago) I didn’t have those ingredients on hand but I wanted to make them NOW.  And, in this house we’re rather simple creatures, so peanut butter and chocolate sounded like a good way to go.  Also, the ingredients I listed are double what was in the original.  I did this for two reasons: 1) I was using quite a bit less dry ingredients overall by leaving out the nuts and things, and 2) I wanted to make darn sure we had plenty to bring with us.

I got 18 good size treats out of this, and have exercised amazing willpower by not eating any of them.  Mat has done well with willpower too, which is definitely saying something since these very much resemble cookies!

The picture again, because it’s so darn mouth-watering!

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

2 thoughts on “Quinoa Balls

  1. what if you blended the pb with the honey. Do you think it would come together more easily?

    • It’s quite possible that it would. I’m just not sure about them holding together though. The honey gets poured/mixed in first and then the whole thing chills which sets it a little before you put the sticky peanut butter in. It’s worth a try though! (If you try it that way let me know – you can guest post for me! 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

