Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Earthquake!

Leave a comment

I woke up this morning to see a Facebook post from a friend about an earthquake.  I thought, “we had an earthquake?”  So I googled, and sure enough there was a 4.4 earthquake last night at 11:30, centered in Yorba Linda which is about 20 miles north-ish of where I live.  There were several small aftershocks afterward.

I slept through all of it.  It’s not the first time I’ve slept through an earthquake.  In a weird way I was sad.  I know, I know, it’s crazy, but when earthquakes are small and not dangerous, I almost think they’re fun.

Go ahead and call me a weirdo.  It’s ok.  🙂

I guess I got my wish though because about 20 minutes ago we had another one.  This one was a 4.5, also centered in Yorba Linda.  Then we got a teeny aftershock a couple minutes ago.  For me, since I’m about 20 miles away, it doesn’t feel big.  But a lot of family and friends are only 10ish miles from it so they’re feeling it worse.

My 5 mile run this morning was pretty good.  I got up at 6 to beat the heat.  It worked ok, I guess.  I got through all my ab work and arm weights, showered, made the bed, etc etc.

Breakfast

The same as usual: cottage cheese, Greek yogurt, honey, granola, and strawberries.  And ice coffee with milk and Hersheys.

 

Soon I’m off to the district office to get a new ID badge made.  I also need to call our cable company at some point to try and negotiate a lower monthly price.  They suck you in with this lovely rate for the first 6 months and then it goes up, for us by $40.  While the price of cable/internet/phone doesn’t make or break us, it would  still be nice to have that $40 back.  It tends to take me a while to make phone calls like that.  It’s highly likely I’ll end up putting it off until tomorrow…

 

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

