Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

10 Miles

Leave a comment

This morning I got my butt out of bed at 6.  Yes, 6 am on a Saturday.  However, I got my light turned out just after 10 last night, and except for waking up once or twice randomly, I slept pretty well.  It makes all the difference when you’re trying to keep up the motivation to run long.  Especially when running has been rather ugh lately.  But more on that another time.

The 10 miles was actually not that bad.  Fortunately the sun never showed it’s face today, so it wasn’t hot and gross.  I still put on sunscreen though because I don’t take chances.  I also have a nice bathing suit tan going and I’d rather not have a running top/shorts tan yet.  🙂

I was craving something cool and smooth today when I got back, so I decided to make, yup you guessed it, a smoothie!  It was basically the same thing as this one, because apparently that’s all I like to make.  The only difference was that I threw in a few coffee ice cubes with the regular ones.  I couldn’t really taste any coffee, so next time I’ll have to use all coffee ice cubes.  But, I’d rather just use a few the first time in case it wasn’t good.

In the smoothie:

  • ice (regular and coffee)
  • banana
  • good size (read: a lot) scoop peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup cooked oats
  • handful chocolate chips (I may or may not have used more than 1 handful…)
  • chocolate syrup

I guess it’s more of a shake than a smoothie.  Eh, whatever.  The oatmeal and peanut butter give it some good oomph, the banana gives me much needed fruit, and the chocolate just makes it taste good.  I’m not a fan of super banana flavored smoothies.  In fact they sort of gross me out.  Chocolate syrup is the best way I’ve found to cut that flavor, regardless of whatever else is in there.

Between my water, smoothie, and coffee (iced with milk and Hersheys of course) I had a total liquid breakfast:

 

Yes, it is a large smoothie.  But it’s got to last me until dinner!  Or at least almost until dinner, I might have time for a snack at some point but I’m not sure.

Today we’re going to see The Dark Knight (Mat has been dying to see it) and then going to dinner at The Cheesecake Factory with the gift cards we got as a wedding gift.  Since we get our movie tickets at Costco, this date night is costing under $20.  Woohoo!

Hopefully I survive the movie.  It’s not that I don’t want to see it, I’m just not into those kind of movies like Mat is.  I’ll see pretty much anything as long as it’s entertaining, but 3 hour movies and I do NOT get along.  I just cannot sit still for that long, especially in a movie theater seat.  I’m hoping that since we waited so long to see it and since we’re going early in the afternoon that it won’t be too crowded and I can stretch out a bit.  🙂

I wish I could go to the Healthy Living Summit this year.  But it’s on the East Coast and is right as I’m going back to work.  Maybe next year it will be on the West Coast!?  Yes?  I should suggest that.  🙂

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

