Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Back to Oatmeal

3 Comments

This morning after my 5 mile run, I was craving something a little different than usual.  Lately I’ve been having my cottage cheese breakfast, but I was in the mood for oatmeal this morning.  I’m really not sure why, since in the summer I tend to gravitate toward cool meals over hot ones.  I guess it’s because I have a terrible weakness for peanut butter and chocolate.  🙂

Even though I put the oatmeal in the fridge for a few minutes to chill it down, I ended up putting the whole bowl, complete with milk, peanut butter, and chocolate chips, in the freezer for a few more minutes to chill it further.  I guess it’s the next best thing when you can’t do overnight oats.  🙂

I also had iced coffee, of course.  It had milk and hersheys in it, of course.

 

Today’s plan is to run to Target and get a few more of those things that stay on your list forever but you never end up getting because you prioritize what you buy.  At some point I guess you just have to do it.

I’ve been trying lately to really pinpoint just how much money we need to be stashing away in addition to saving for a house.  Our Hawaii trip MUST happen next year, but fortunately our refund from Groupon will help with that.

After that, Amanda I are planning to watch last night’s women’s team gymnastics final.  Yay gymnastics!  I should probably work on finishing those thank you notes too…  🙂

 

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

3 thoughts on “Back to Oatmeal

  1. Mel, do you know what island you want to go to? I have been a few times and can help you if you want to go to Maui or Kauai

  2. We’re not sure yet, but leaning on Maui. Mat has been there twice and I’ve never been to Hawaii at all, so back when Hawaii was a honeymoon contender we were thinking of Kauai since it would be new for both of us. But now, we’re not sure we’ll want the super quiet atmosphere but would rather be somewhere where there’s lots to do. What would you suggest?

    • I’ve been to Maui and Kauai. I prefer Kauai but it definitely has less night life, less restaurants and is more for relaxing or for out door activities. You guys love exercising so you could go to Kauai and hike in Hanalei, go to the Napali coast, things like that. There are cute little places to eat in Poipu. We stayed here and LOVED it (http://www.outrigger.com/hotels-resorts/hawaiian-islands/kauai/outrigger-waipouli-beach-resort). Also, there is stuff to to in Kauai, you just have to know how to look for it. But it is mostly day time out door stuff like zip lining, theres a big river you can go down in tubes. If you end up going here let me know – I have good friends who live there that will probably have no problem showing you guys around, giving you gear etc

      Maui definitely has more to do but it also doesn’t feel as tropical as Kauai. It isn’t as lush – it looks more like a mix of So Cal and Miami – lots of palm trees but not as “rainforesty” as Kauai. Although there is more activity, more restuarants, and a FANTASTIC show you have to go see if you go there (http://www.warrenandannabelles.com/). Also, I recommend the Maui Aquarium – you’ll never want to go to Aquarium of the Pacific again.

      I have heard the big island is great too – I’ve heard that is a mix of more lush but also has activities.

Leave a Reply

