Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

A Sunny Run. Again.

Leave a comment

Because I stayed up late watching women’s gymnastics last night, I opted to sleep in a little bit later than usual.  Normally, I would get up at 7 in an attempt to beat the sun, especially on the 5 mile or longer run.  Today I got up a little before 8.

Bad idea.

When I first woke up it was still overcast, and it seemed like it was going to stay that way for a while.  Then I went outside.  The sun decided to rear its ugly head about a mile into the run.  And, since I thought it was going to stay cloudy, I hadn’t brought my sunglasses or water.  Fail.

Fortunately, I did put sunscreen on.  My mom taught me way back as a little kid that you can still get sunburned when it’s cloudy, possibly even worse than when it’s sunny because of the reflection of the sun through the clouds.

It was a rough run.  I wished I had my water, not just for drinking but for dumping on my head.  I’m telling you, it works.  And it’s wonderful.

Breakfast

I got home, stretched, did some ab work, and then had one of my usual summer breakfasts – cottage cheese deliciousness.

cottage cheese, greek yogurt, granola, honey, and strawberries

Naturally I also had iced coffee.  This time I had milk and hershey’s in it.

The best part about the morning?  When I got back from that run my wonderful husband had made the bed and already brewed the coffee and put my mug in the fridge to chill.  😀

Today is all about possibly cranking out some thank you notes and definitely working on the blog.

Happy Monday!

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

