Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Meal Planning

Leave a comment

Every two weeks, I do a meal plan.  I usually do it from Friday-Thursday because Friday nights are usually pizza or something random we concoct from the cupboard/fridge and Friday or Saturday is when Mat gets the groceries.

I’ve only had to do one meal plan since we got home, and it was a really easy one because I made Mat’s lasagna which lasted 4 nights and made quiche which lasted 3 nights.  The other nights we were either at my parent’s house or we rummaged around to make something quick.

Now, it’s time to do another full 2 weeks worth of meals.  We’ve gotten away from eating vegetarian because of the lasagna, but for these next two weeks I’m planning to go heavy on the veggies.  I think our bodies need it!

When I’m doing veggie meals, I use a lot of quinoa and beans.  Stir frys are also a favorite.  However, sometimes I run out of ideas and don’t want to use too much pasta.  Any new ideas for veggie-friendly meals are much appreciated!

Here’s what I came up with for the next two weeks:

 

 

As you can see, there’s a lot of summery things on the menu.  I love making cold pasta salads for dinner in the summer because you can throw in any veggies you want and it still tastes good.  For this salad, I might throw in some salami even though it’s technically meat, just because it’s so dang good.

Chile rellenos is something that Mat has wanted to make for a while now, so when I asked him if there was anything in particular he wanted for dinner the next 2 weeks, he quickly responded with that.  The shrimp is my thing since I hardly ever get to eat it – it will be a more pricey meal but once and a while that’s ok, right?

My menu planning strategy is similar to my mom’s – she always plans 2 weeks at a time.  The one thing I don’t do is look at store sales ads.  But, that’s because Mat works at Trader Joe’s where prices are already low and he gets a 10% employee discount.  I’d say that’s already pretty good!  We also shop at Costco for things like cottage cheese, Fage yogurt, toilet paper/paper towels, and stuff like that.  So far it’s worked ok.  🙂

Lunch

Lunch was a usual favorite: 1/2 cup (plus a smidge extra…) of cottage cheese with a spoonful of Greek yogurt, 1/4 cup granola, and sliced plum and strawberries

And now it’s almost time for Dr. Phil (it’s a guilty pleasure).  Yesterday featured a severely anorexic girl and they talked about how if you want to change something in your life, you have to make the choice to do it no matter how hard it may be.  It really got me thinking about my own negative attitudes toward a lot of things in my life in the past year.  I may not be battling an eating disorder, but the principal is the same – if you want things to get better you have to make a conscious effort to change your thinking.  Perhaps I’ll post more on this later.

Off to watch tv and work on thank you notes!

 

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

