Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

The Proposal from the Guy’s Point of View

Leave a comment

 I asked Mat to write this post for the blog that I would post on our wedding day.  As you read it, we’re either getting ready, waiting for the ceremony to start, saying I Do, or dancing the night away.  Enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So Melissa wanted me to do a couple of guest blog posts and she recommended I blog about how I proposed and from my point of view. We both knew that at some point we were going to get engaged and we both knew roughly the time frame that we would be getting engaged. Early on in our relationship Melissa and I agreed on always talking and keeping communication open. This almost bit me in the butt since I stupidly told Melissa how much money I was planning to spend, how much I was saving each month, and how much of a bonus I was getting around Christmas time… I know… I’m a special kind of dumb at times.

Anyways, the day after thanksgiving I went into Custom Jewelry Inc. in Whittier and talked to the owner Jeff about making a custom engagement right. We came up with an idea based on some rings that Melissa liked and I put down a deposit. Up until that point in my life this was one of the biggest decisions in my life. I was super excited, nervous, scared, but most of all happy. I went home and showed my Mom and sister the receipt and needless to say they were excited. Since my Dad utterly lacks the ability to not blurt out what you had just told him I decided not to tell my dad my plans.

Now during this time Melissa had the habit of telling me that I would NEVER be able to surprise her with a proposal. I actually doubted my ability to surprise her but I knew I had to step up and do my best. At this point I had absolutely no idea how to surprise her. Would I just do the normal “date night during dinner proposal” or try to be creative. I realized that if I had tried a nice dinner proposal that Melissa would see right through it. I mean how obvious would it be if I asked her to a nice dinner and made sure she dressed nice? I realized I had to take myself out of the picture entirely. I texted our friend Steph and said I may need her help in surprising Melissa. I came up with the idea of being called into work to cover for a coworker who had covered my Christmas Eve shift. I knew Melissa would not be too happy about my sudden shift and would likely hang out with Steph. To throw her a bit more I told her that the bonus I was going to be getting was actually not coming, and the whole thing was me getting confused about the letter work had sent, something that isn’t out of the norm for me. Melissa bought this completely and was a little upset I had gotten mixed up. I nearly told Melissa that I was lying because I absolutely hate when I upset her. When the bonus arrived the next day I finished paying off the ring.

I finalized my plans with Steph and I set it all into motion. I texted Melissa, told her that Saturday plans would be changing since I got called in. She was upset that we couldn’t hang out like usual and texted Steph. Steph said they could hang out and maybe do a picnic (which was my idea), and Melissa was completely sold on it. I texted Melissa’s dad Steve and asked him if we could meet for dinner to talk. When we got to Panera he knew I was nervous, made small talk for a little bit, and finally says “So I know why you asked me here but I’ll let you get to that.” I laugh and tell him that I love his daughter more than I ever thought possible to love anyone. I tell him that she means everything to me, and that I wanted his blessing in asking Melissa to marry me. True to his character, Steve says “You know I never knew why guys ask the father for their blessing. It’s not really our decision, but I really respect that you asked me and of course you have Nancy and my blessing.” (Insert fist pump here).

So the night before I propose Melissa and I go to Chipotle and I mention I want to go to Disneyland on Sunday. Melissa says she doesn’t know and may not be in the mood (I suspect she’s still not too thrilled I have “work” the next day). She looks at me and asks why I have a weird look on my face and I freeze. My plan was to go to Disneyland the day after I proposed since were both Disneyland geeks and I wanted to get the “Just Engaged” pins. I tell her I was just really hoping to go since we couldn’t hang out on Saturday.

Anyways I wake up on that Saturday and take Steph to the park to plan where I’m going to propose. We find a good spot, give her a bunch of stuff for the picnic including a card for Melissa, I go home and clean up, Steph goes back home, gets ready, and goes to pick up Melissa. I head to the park and hang out in my car waiting for Steph to text me telling me they are at the park and that she’s leaving the picnic to “grab her camera”. She texts me that it’s time to make my move and I jump out of my car and start walking towards Melissa. Melissa is just finishing reading the card and she’s trying to straighten her hair and starts to look for me. I walk up to her, give her a hug, and tell her I love her and she means the world to me. I get down on one knee and ask her to marry me. All this time I’m wearing my sunglasses… Yes I proposed while still wearing my sunglasses… Like I said, I can be very special at times.

Melissa says yes and is in full excitement mode. I tell her that my family is at her house and that they are waiting for us. She’s in complete utter shock that:

1) I just proposed

2) That I COMPLETELY surprised her

3) That both my family and her family knew the whole time.

4) That we also have dinner reservations that the Summit House, a very fancy restaurant that we really like (and will serve as our reception venue for the wedding)

It was an amazing day that went off basically without a hitch. Neither of us could really eat that day due to nerves and excitement. This was a little more than a year and a half ago and as I write this it is 3 days till the wedding and I cannot wait.

 

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

