Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

My Last Long Run

1 Comment

It wasn’t my last long run ever, but it was my last long run for the next month or so.  For the last couple of months I’ve had a slight feeling of…not dread, but definitely UGH when I wake up for my long Saturday runs.  Particularly when the long Saturday run is a 14-miler.  Today was no exception.  But, I tried to calm myself down by reminding myself that it was my last long run for a while.

I’m not sure how much it helped.

This run was tough.  I don’t know if it’s because I didn’t do a long run last weekend or because my body is just plain worn out despite having been off work for the last week.  But, I told myself that I was NOT going to give up because this was IT.  This was the LAST long run until we get back from our honeymoon.  And even then, I probably won’t be up to running 14 on the first Saturday after we’re back.

Somehow, even though I was pretty tired through most of it, I made it through.  I knew that once I was done I would feel that amazing feeling of accomplishment that only happens when you finish a long run that was hard.  And sure enough, when I hit the corner by the apartment and finally stopped, I felt amazing.  Super tired, but amazing.

After taking a lovely shower and putting on some makeup to make myself feel alive again, I settled down to enjoy a peach and overnight oats.

best. breakfast. ever.

I also had iced coffee with milk and hersheys.

On the agenda for today: do some laundry, do some relaxing, and pack to go home for our wedding week!!

Countdown: 6 days!!!

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

One thought on “My Last Long Run

  1. 14 miles is a pretty decent distance! Good job! And enjoy every second of this week! It goes by way too fast!

Leave a Reply

