Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

An Anniversary

Leave a comment

No, it’s not our dating anniversary.  Or the anniversary of our first kiss.  Or first vacation.  Or anything for Mat and I.

It’s the 1 year anniversary since my first run.

A year ago today was my first day off for the summer.  I had been talking for about a month or so of wanted to mix up my exercise routine and try running.  I had stopped going to ballet as regularly and had been doing Insanity workouts (Google that sucker – WordPress doesn’t let me link) for a while, but I wanted something different and running had been intriguing me.

So last year, on June 21st, Mat and I went for a run.  Since my stamina/endurance was already pretty good from Insanity and ballet, I figured I could do 1.5 miles.  What I didn’t figure into that equation was the sun/heat.  At 11:30 am on the first day of summer the sun was definitely out and blazing.  It did not make for a good run for someone who hadn’t run in forever.  (I had run some in high school and college, but nothing regular and never about 2 miles or so).

I felt sick and horrible after that first run.  I think I blamed Mat for it, even though I was the one who’d agreed to it and he was running at my pace as a favor to me anyway.  Luckily, he still loves me.  🙂

I spend the rest of that day laying by the pool.  Honestly, I think knowing that the pool was waiting for me is what got me through that run, especially toward the end when my stomach was feeling so icky.

The next morning, I had renewed motivation.  I got up around 7 or so and ran 1.5 miles in the cool overcast morning.  This run was much better.  I was tired, sure, but didn’t feel sick.  It was a good tired.

Over the next few weeks I gradually worked on increasing my mileage.  I even started following a Hal Higdon half marathon training plan with the thought of running the Long Beach Half Marathon in October.

I didn’t want to jump on the half marathon bandwagon too soon and pay the registration fee unless I was really committed.  I gave it until the end of August and then registered.

And the rest is history.  I even registered for the Surf City Half and OC Full Marathons the night before running the Long Beach Half.  Later I changed my OC registration to the half because I just didn’t have the time or energy to train for it.  But, I did get my beach cities medal!

me with my oc finisher’s medal AND my beach cities challenge medal!

And here I am, 1 year later.  I’ve run 3 half marathons, and registered for a 4th, and have no end in sight.  I’ve truly become addicted to running.  It can be really hard sometimes, but when you finish a long run and your legs are burning and you wonder what the heck you’re doing to yourself, you feel so GOOD and accomplished and PROUD of yourself.  It takes work to run 13 or 14 or 16 miles (16 is my farthest distance) and knowing that you’ve put that work in and made it happen is an amazing feeling.

And knowing you have a pool to soak in and a lovely shower and a great meal waiting for you at the end is a good motivator too.  🙂

Now I’m not gonna lie, it will be very nice to give my body a break from running during our honeymoon.  But I know that once we’re back I’ll be itching to run again.

From dancing for food to running for me, I’ve come a long way.  🙂

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

