Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Pool Time and Pasta Salad

2 Comments

After a pretty lazy morning, we continued to be lazy and laid out by the pool for a couple hours.  I was good this time and let my tanning lotion/sunscreen soak in before going outside so I would avoid a sun rash like I got last time.  While outside, I called our reception venue to confirm that they had received the final payment and also confirmed when we could drop off our decorations and things.  Shortly after that, the florist called to confirm the details and the times for next Friday.  I was able to check some little things off the list while relaxing poolside!  It was quite efficient!

After some pool time, I had a late lunch of a peach and a banana with peanut butter.  I forgot to take a picture but since those are pretty basic things I think it’s ok that I forgot.  Besides, the rest of this post is about pasta salad (hence the title) so my lunch details aren’t really all that important, right?

After lunch I prepped dinner even though it was only 4:30.  I was making pasta salad and I wanted it to sit in the fridge for a few hours so the flavors could come together.  I love a good summertime pasta salad because you can pretty much put whatever you want in it.  I started by cooking a package of bow-tie pasta.  While it cooled, I start chopping veggies.

zucchini, bell peppers, broccoli, carrots, red onion, and tomatoes

I added the cooled pasta to the veggies:

And started mixing.  I used the rest of a bottle of caesar vinaigrette dressing and added 3 tbsp nutritional yeast to it, 1 tbsp at a time.

Then I decided that nutritional yeast just wasn’t good enough on it’s own, so I added a bunch of parmesan to it.  🙂

The finished product:

YUM!!

My plate:

We paired the salad with juan canary melon.  (It’s the big yellow one in the above photos).

this melon is soooo good. it tastes sort of like honeydew and has a great soft texture to it.

It was delicious and perfect for a hot summer day.  The best part?  We have leftovers for tomorrow and probably for a third night too!

On the agenda for the evening: watching Boy Meets World on DVD until 9:00 when Bunheads, my new favorite show, comes on.  🙂

Good night!

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

2 thoughts on “Pool Time and Pasta Salad

  1. What do you use the yeast for? Does it have flavor?

    • It’s used a lot in vegan recipes because it tastes similar to cheese. We like adding it to pasta sauce and stuff because it adds protein and makes it a lot more filling. And it’s way less calories than meat!

Leave a Reply

