Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

What a Lovely Friday!

1 Comment

Today was really a lovely Friday.  Yes, it was a bit long, as usual, but that’s really my only complaint.

First off, two of my 2nd period students were given extra time on their project because one of them was absent two days and the other one was absent a different day.  They decided to design each triangle as a different flag of the world.

Isn’t that COOL???  I had to take a few pictures to get the different angles.  You can’t tell in the picture, but they even wrapped the whole thing in packaging tape to make it more sturdy and shiny.  I LOVE it.  I’m hoping they let me keep it.  🙂

Also in 2nd period, I got a gift.  I only have one senior in that class, and I had her in my class last year as well.  Today was her last official day of school (next week while the underclassmen take finals the seniors do their own activities).  She came up to me at the end of class with a little present for me!

she and her mom made it by hand!

Isn’t that so pretty?  It was so sweet of her!

Then, as if I didn’t already have a good day, one of my 4 seniors in 4th period asked if he could go to his counselor.  I said sure (I mean what else is he going to do – the seniors finished their final yesterday).  When he came back, his counselor was with him.  It was the counselor who gives out Apple Awards to teachers (these are awards that students can nominate teachers for).  This kid had gone down there to get the counselor to come back with him and give me another award!  This is the same kid who has ALREADY nominated me for an award in the past.  This time though, he did it with my 2 senior girls in that class.  The counselor read what they wrote about me and it was so so sweet.  And, better still, instead of an apple like they usually give, I got a big bar of milk chocolate with almonds.  🙂

Today was one of those days where you remember why you decided to teach.  Yeah, there are plenty of horribly irritating kids and irritating days, but then there are the good days where you realize how much the kids appreciate you and what you do.

I feel very blessed.  🙂

Countdown: 4 days of school and 21 days until our wedding

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

One thought on “What a Lovely Friday!

  1. That is awesome! All we ever need is to know we make a difference! You have done that! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

