Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Academy Awards

Leave a comment

Sorry, I’m not talking about the ones with the little golden statue and celebrities in fancy clothes walking the red carpet.  Though that would be fun.  Besides, it’s the wrong time of year.

There was a red carpet though.

I’m referring to the Academy Awards at school.  Since over half of the students I teach are in either the E-Business or Teach Academy, I get to be involved with some pretty cool stuff.  At the end of the year, we give award to students who have done an outstanding job academically, in the community, and in school in general.  At the end, each senior is given a medal and one of the teachers serenades them with Green Day’s “Time of Your Life.”

The whole thing went longer than I anticipated and I was wearing my Tiffany shoes from my bridal shower which meant my dogs were BARKING!  But, it was really nice to see all the kids so happy.  It’s a really special thing and is the best way to validate what you do.

Dinner:

For dinner Mat made a tofu stir fry but with a few changes from how he did it last time.  This time he marinated the tofu in soy sauce instead of soyaki (because we were out) and sautéed garlic and onion with red pepper flakes before adding the tofu and veggies to the pan.  For rice, we used the leftover lemon/cilantro brown rice we had made for last night’s bean and cheese burritos.  (Last night was a lazy night).  It sounds weird, but it was actually really good.  The red pepper flakes made it pretty spicy, but in a really good way.

my bowl

We paired it with a basic salad that I scarfed down.  And a glass of wine.  🙂

And that was today, well the afternoon anyway.  The day was pretty basic (projects and returning books) and in the afternoon before going back for the awards I just sat on my butt on the couch.  I was really tired for some reason!

We’re almost to the end of the week.  Friday is coming and with it the 3 week mark til our wedding!

Countdown: 6 days of school and 22 days until our wedding

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

