Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Spicy Rigatoni – My Version

Leave a comment

Mat is at work tonight, so dinner was up to me.  I decided to make Spicy Rigatoni, modified from this recipe.  For some reason, when I went to the recipe tonight, you couldn’t see the actual directions.  But, it wasn’t hard to figure out so I wrote my own here.  Plus, lately I’ve been having fun just figuring out recipes as I go.  🙂

The best part about this recipe?  It was super easy!

Spicy Rigatoni

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbs chopped garlic
  • 1/2 Tbs crushed red pepper
  • ~1/2 package frozen peas
  • 1 zucchini, chopped (you could totally use more)
  • 1 cup Marinara sauce (I used Trader Joe’s)
  • 3/4 cup Alfredo sauce (again, Trader Joe’s)
  • 3 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 lb Rigatoni pasta, cooked according to package directions
  • red pepper flakes and grated parmesan for garnish
Directions:
  1. Saute garlic and red pepper flakes in olive oil until garlic begins to brown.  Add peas and zucchini and sauté until zucchini is tender.
  2. Add marinara and alfredo sauces to pan along with nutritional yeast.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Bring to a boil and then let simmer for 5-10 minutes or until heated through.
  3. Pour sauce on top of pasta and stir to combine.  Serve with additional red pepper and/or grated parmesan cheese.

sautéing garlic and red pepper flakes

zucchini

sautéing the veggies!

cooked rigatoni

I forgot to take a picture of the sauce in the pan before I poured it in.  Oops!

all mixed together

salad on the side

my dinner (more greens than pasta -our  wedding is so close!)

It.  Was.  So.  Good.  Like, seriously good.  I garnished with parmesan rather than red pepper flakes.  I was a little worried because the original recipe said it was pretty hot and spicy, but I thought it was fine.  Mat will probably garnish with red pepper.  🙂

I think it could use more zucchini, but I only had one in the fridge.  The zucchini was actually leftover from when we made grilled vegetable salad last week and I needed a way to use it up.  I thought it would go perfectly with the peas and spicy flavor in this pasta, and I was right!  🙂

This is one of my new favorite meals for sure.

Countdown: 9 days of school and 26 days until our wedding

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

