Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

An Easier Run

Leave a comment

I woke up this morning planning for 8 or 10 miles.  Usually I go for the higher number because I’m obsessive, and since both runs start the same I can make up my mind midway through.  That’s probably a bad idea because you usually tend to slack and choose the shorter route, which is exactly what I did.  But, it was probably for the best because I ran 14 miles both of the last 2 Saturdays, which I usually don’t do.  I tend to alternate between 14 and 10 on Saturdays, but today I just wasn’t feeling it as much.  Sometimes you just need a break.

Plus, if I feel the need for extra calorie burn, Mat and I can take a walk or I can use my bike.  🙂

After showering, cleaning up a bit, calling my grandmother to wish her a happy birthday, and wrapping the gift for the baby shower I’m going to today, I whipped up a smoothie for breakfast.  I based it off of the Quick Chiquita Banana Oatmeal Smoothie but made a few tweaks:

  • 2 bananas
  • 1/2 cup cooked oatmeal
  • ~1/3 cup peanut butter (instead of Greek yogurt)
  • handful chocolate chips (instead of almonds)
  • drizzle chocolate syrup (because it’s yummy)
  • ice

I tossed it all in the blender and blended away.  It came out really good.  I think using cooked oatmeal and leaving out the milk helped.  It was thicker than the smoothie I made last Monday.  The reason I subbed some ingredients was because a) I wasn’t feeling the yogurt and almonds today, even though it sounds like it would be really good, and b) I didn’t want to use the Greek yogurt because we didn’t buy any more this week and I know I’ll want it for snacks after work this next week.

It made less than last time because I used less bananas and was still loosely following the other recipe, but that’s ok.  I had a big glass for myself and left the rest for Mat to have when he gets home from work.

mine

his

As usual lately, iced coffee with milk and hersheys.

I think I have an obsession with polka dot mugs

On the agenda for today: Stephanie’s (Mat’s cousin) baby shower and then a relaxing evening at home, probably including some jacuzzi time.  🙂

Have a good Saturday everyone!

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

