Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

Holiday Run

Leave a comment

This morning’s 5 mile run was much harder than usual.  Part of it was the sun – I took a while getting up and out and the sun was already out.  And, it was warmer than I thought it would be.  When you aren’t used to running in the sun it really zaps your energy.  But, I made it through, got through my ab workout when I got back, and finally got to take a wonderful shower.  🙂

Breakfast this morning was one of my all time favorite summertime meals:

  • 1/2 cup low fat cottage cheese
  • 2 tbsp greek yogurt (or more, I just finished the last of a container and didn’t feel like opening the new one)
  • sliced strawberries
  • ~1/4 cup granola (I used pumpkin flax today)
  • generous drizzle of honey

It’s seriously my favorite breakfast when I’m home on summer mornings.  It’s protein packed from the cottage cheese and yogurt, the strawberries give you your morning fruit, and the granola and honey add some natural crunch and sweetness.

With it, I had iced coffee with milk and chocolate syrup.

I’ve started freezing leftover coffee so I can use them to ice my morning cup.  I’ve come to prefer iced coffee to hot, particularly when it’s warm outside.  The frozen coffee cubes melt but don’t dilute the coffee.  Brilliant!  I’ve known about this trick for a while but never actually tried it until the last few days.  I think it’s going to become a daily thing.

On the agenda for today: make the wedding programs, pick up a baby shower gift, try to get the wedding seating chart started and the playlist finalized.  The playlist is basically done but I need to refine a few things.

Happy Memorial Day everyone!

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

