Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

14 Miles

Leave a comment

This morning I got my butt out of bed at 6 am to get an early start on my morning run.  There were a couple of reasons I decided to do something so crazy:

  1. An earlier run means you beat the sun.  This means cool temperatures, a gorgeous SoCal overcast sky with no need for sunglasses, and less fear that your sunscreen will wear off as you sweat and ruin your attempts at a strapless wedding dress appropriate tan.
  2. And of course, running in the sun basically sucks so I wanted to avoid it.
  3. An earlier run means you can get home from a 14-miler and still have a huge chunk of day leftover.

If I can get myself to bed on time, I have no issues with waking up early on a Saturday.  I actually prefer it.  I’ve grown to love mornings – they’re cool and quiet and peaceful.  There’s something so nice about being up early, drinking some coffee, watching the news, and just beginning to enjoy the day that’s stretching out in front of you.

When I got back from my run, I was definitely feeling the burn.  But, I was very glad I did it.  I haven’t run that distance in at least a month, maybe more.  The two weeks before the OC Half Marathon, I ran 8 and 10 mile long runs, and last week before my bridal shower I ran 8 again.  It felt good to run FAR.  Though I still am not sure how I’m going to manage to train for a full marathon.  It’s still a definite goal for me, but I don’t know when I’ll do it yet.

After I showered and rested, I finally got around to breakfast.  I’m one of those people who just can’t eat right away after a long run.  My stomach literally feels sick if I try.  On top of that, I felt like I was having mini cramps.  It’s not supposed to be that time of the month yet, but antibiotics apparently like to mess with the pill.  It’s irritating.  Very irritating.

But, I digress.  Breakfast was a banana and a bowl of cottage cheese with greek yogurt, granola, and honey drizzled on top.

for some reason I like bananas better when they’re sliced

love this meal

I also had iced coffee with milk and chocolate syrup.  I thought ahead this time and put the mug in the fridge before my run so it was nicely chilled by the time I was ready to drink it.

it looks like an ordinary coffee mug…

but there’s a surprise!

My best buddy Steph brought me this mug from a trip she went on a few weeks ago.  It’s so awesome!  It’s a little froggy sitting inside the mug.  She said, “you can have water in it and he’s a friend or you can have coffee and he’s a surprise!”  This morning, he was a surprise.  🙂

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

