Dancing for Food

Overcoming the ballet body image.

quiche uncooked

Spinach Asparagus Quiche

Leave a comment

Tonight I tried my hand at making quiche, complete with homemade crust.  As I was browsing for crust recipes, some used shortening and one that I found used olive oil.  I seem to recall a crust recipe using butter, but I also recall that when I used it for pecan pie it failed. I decided to go with the olive oil crust.

I was also looking for a recipe using mozzarella cheese, mainly to get an idea of proportions.  I accidentally put mozzarella on the list instead of the usual swiss.  I also had put feta on the list (I really don’t know what was going on with my thought process – in my defense I wrote out the ingredients for quiche back before our wedding and we never ended up making it).

I got to use the iPad in the kitchen today.  It was fun!

they sell kitchen iPad sleeves, but i think that’s totally silly. gallon size ziplocs do the job just fine.

And now on to the recipe.  I used the crust recipe from here and adapted the actual quiche recipe from here.

Spinach Asparagus Quiche

Crust Ingredients:

1 cup flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup ice water

Crust Directions:

Mix flour and salt with a fork.  In a separate bowl, combine water and oil with a fork.  Pour the liquid into the flour and stir with a fork. Press the dough into a 9 inch pie pan.  (No rolling required!).  Set aside while preparing the quiche mixture.

mine was a little small because my pie plate was 9.5 inches, but it still worked.

Quiche Ingredients:

3 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 yellow onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 cups fresh spinach (this is an estimate; I didn’t measure but just went off what it looked like in the pan)

1 package asparagus, washed, trimmed, and chopped into 1 1/2 inch pieces

8 eggs

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1 teaspoon dried basil

1 1/2 cups shredded Mozzarella cheese

1/4 cup feta cheese

generous sprinkling grated parmesan cheese

salt and ground black pepper to taste (I forgot to add these, but it was still good)

Quiche Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat; add the onion and garlic and cook until onion becomes translucent, about 5 minutes. Combine the spinach and asparagus with the onion and cook until spinach is wilted and asparagus is crisp-tender.  Remove from heat and let cool.
  3. Beat the eggs in a large bowl until light colored and frothy. Add the thyme, basil, cheeses, and spinach mixture, and stir until well blended. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Pour the spinach mixture into the pie crust.
  4. Bake in preheated oven until the top is golden brown, and an inserted tooth pick comes out clean, about 50-60 minutes.

 

 

 

just before it went in the oven

I had my piece with ketchup and hot sauce and tuscan cantaloupe melon on the side.  I also had the rest of my leftover whole grain bread from last night, just for fun

 

This is definitely a make-again recipe.  It was a lot easier than I anticipated and tasted delicious.  It was also quite a welcome change to have a lighter meal after all the pepperoni lasagna we’ve been eating lately.  The best part?  We have two more nights worth of quiche and one last night of lasagna left.  Since we’re going to Disneyland tomorrow, we have the rest of the week’s meals covered!  (I meal plan for 2 weeks at a time, starting with Friday in which we generally get Costco pizza).

And with that, I need to get ready for bed.  I’m waking up early to get a 5 mile run in before we leave for Disneyland.  Since we’re spending a lot to go for the one day, we plan to get there at 8 and open the park!

Good night!

 

Author: Melissa

Getting healthy - mind, body, and soul.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 471 other followers